Day 92 – National Caramel Apple Day and Halloween

Naturally caramel apples would be celebrated on Halloween because they certainly seem connected to the holiday.  Maybe it’s just part of the season that makes them go hand and hand together.  It’s the height of autumn, the apple harvest is rolling in and the air starts to take on those chills of November.  It makes sense, on paper. Caramel apple’s look tasty.  Giant spheres covered in caramel and usually dusted with some other kind of sweet additional treat like chocolate or sprinkles.  It’s like the perfect bait for a hungry kid.  If you dangle a good looking caramel apple in front of anyone, they’re going to want it.  However, the failing of the caramel apple comes in at what’s underneath all that gooey and sweet caramel.  It’s an apple.  It’s just wrong.  There I said it.

I just don’t get the appeal.  I can think of a hundred easer ways to eat caramel than trying to bite it off an apple on a stick.  And I’d much rather eat an apple straight up.  I don’t want it it all covered up with other things.  I want it to fit in my hand so I can just open my mouth, take a bite and not get all kinds of caramel and goop on my face.  I just don’t understand why this is still a thing.  No-one ever eats the apple.  They work around it, nibbling at the candy outside.  Yet still, they pop up every year and the kiddies go nuts for them.  Stupid youth.

Because it is the holiday, I made a caramel apple.  I had some caramel left over from my brownies from the other day, so I unwrapped them and put them in a bowl with a bit of cream.  I microwaved it for about a minute, stirred and kept heating until it became smooth and melty.  I then dunked an apple in there that I had put at the end of a stick and covered the outside.  In a side dish, I had crushed up some pretzels, so after I covered the apple in caramel, I dipped it into the pretzels.  Then I let it set.  We tasted it later at night and it was everything I imagined.  The caramel and the pretzels were a nice sweet and salty combo.  The apple was really inconvenient to eat, hard to get a good bite of and made our hands and face all messy.  But that’s what caramel apples are and that’s what they do.  Let’s end this facade.  Let’s retire the caramel apple and make better choices.  We can all admit they just don’t work.

img_0094

Today was also Halloween so we were out to celebrate that as well.  I’ve had some decorations outside our house for the last few weeks, but I took some extra time today to get them ready for the hallowed eve.  I made a few dummies using some raked up leaves and some creepy masks and placed them strategically around the yard.  I also hung up some creepy skeletons to add to the haunting atmosphere.  My pièce de résistance however was a large board that I painted the alphabet on and then strung some Christmas lights above each letter (a la Stranger Things.)  That was an idea that came to me earlier in the month in a eureka moment, so I was glad to follow through.  I then carved a couple of pumpkins that we had picked up earlier in the month to add to the atmosphere.  It came out pretty neat.  We didn’t have any big plans for Halloween, just staying home, but it was fun to have the house decorated.  Trick or Treating in the ‘hood had a small turnout this year (I think we had maybe 6 or 7 door knocks), but it was fun to just enjoy it with Lola.  We went old school and watched a Roseanne Halloween special mini-marathon and made our way through our candy earmarked for trick or treaters that never came.  It was a pretty cozy scene.

img_0071

This was the Stranger Things board.  Had I used that Radio Shack circuit board training tool kit I had when I was a young boy, I may have been able to even spell out actual words with flashing lights.  Goals for next year.

img_0075

This is our little fella that sits on our porch.  I keep him out there all year long and change his outfit with the season.  In fact last year, on one of those days when it was like -5 degrees, I had someone stop their car and walk up on the porch to see if someone was frozen out there.  For Halloween, I disguised him with some deely-bobbers, so he could be festive.  Behind him is Frankenstein – a classic Bar Mel Halloween decoration that he drew by hand and painted.  #Tradition

img_0080

Creepy skeletons in rain coats are always scary.

img_0082

This ghoul hangs out in the tree above our driveway.  It’s been up for a few weeks and it creepily peeks in our kitchen window.  Lola’s not a fan.

img_0084

I always love this mask because it’s just so vicious looking. I like to lighten it up with some kind of joke – take the edge off of him.  Last year I sat him down in the leaves with a big “How to Cook Humans” cookbook.

img_0085

The Mike Meyers mask is a classic.  I bet anyone walking up wasn’t sure if this was fake or if it was a real person waiting to scare them.  I don’t do that.  Actually, I’m playing the long game.  Put out dummies for five years and then on that sixth year, have people start jumping out.

img_0088

My evil clown has been out by the curb all month (staring at our neighbors – Sorry Jenny).  Whenever I’m outside, people walking by will tell me how creepy it is.  Not sure how to answer that.  You should see my basement?  I don’t see anything?  Have you ever danced with devil in the pale moonlight?

img_0092

Just a classic.  This one will flow in the wind if it’s windy out giving some added creepiness.

So that was Halloween.  It was actually a pretty nice one all things considered.  Sometimes you just have to soak in the comfort of home and family to really appreciate a day, and although we didn’t wear costumes or bob for apples, we had some laughs watching the Conners family and waiting for trick or treaters.  That’s a win.

Next Up: National Calzone Day  

 

2 comments

  1. Rini · November 1

    I agree. Caramel apples aren’t the greatest, but there’s something appealing about eating things on a stick. Let alone when it’s caramel with other yummy goodies stuck to it. It’s like the apple completely disappears from view until you eat it and then realize “crap, apple”. Lol

    Like

    • danlederer · November 1

      You’re right Rini! I guess that’s what gets me every time – that moment of “oh crap.” But you can never take away their visual appeal and their sweet, yummy exterior.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

