Day 61 – National Hot Mulled Cider Day

I woke up today and I was still suffering from yesterday’s adventures.  That was just too much caffeine to ingest in one day.  I was happy that my prevailing tiredness beat out the caffeine when it came to sleep (I passed out at about 9), but I still had weird dreams all night.  I was afraid to have my morning coffee today too so I spent most of the the morning in a strange and slow daze.  I was glad to see that the agenda for today’s holiday wasn’t too difficult.  Today was National Chewing Gum Day and I could certainly pull it together to chew some gum.  In fact, one of the leftovers from National Wiffleball Day was a giant tub of Double Bubble Gum, so once I felt coordinated to walk and chew gum at the same time, I started chewing.

img_5732

Double Bubble has great gum flavor but it only lasts about 3 minutes.  After that, your chewing becomes a chore and your jaw starts to hurt.  Sure it makes a great bubble, but they have to improve that flavor duration if they are looking to improve (I sound like Violet Beauregard here on one of her gum rants).  Luckily though I had a tub of 360 pieces of gum, so if I got tired of one piece, I could throw away my gum and get a new piece.   I tried to do this all morning – not constantly like a chain-chewer – but I would pop in a piece of gum whenever I felt it was time.  I probably had about ten pieces, which is the equivalent of about 30 minutes chewing.  Not too bad.

I like Double Bubble, but I usually go for sugar free come like Trident (mint flavor).  Don’t mean to brag, but I can blow a pretty big bubble with Trident (which is more of a chewing gum than a bubble gum). Bazooka is still the classic for bubble blowing gum.  They were actually behind one of my most favorite baseball cards of all time which featured the Brewers’ Kurt Bevacqua blowing a bubble and winning the 1975 Joe Garagiola/Bazooka Bubble Gum Blowing Championship.  That card has always stuck out to me – the giant bubble, the weird measuring device, the seventies look.  It’s a classic and why I still strive to be on a baseball card as a bubble gum blowing champion someday.  I found an image of the card and also a great blog about the whole contest (with video too).  It’s worth the read.  (RIP Joe G.)   I have to search my cards to see if I still have any of those cards.

1976-topps-bubble-blowing-champ

Today was also National Hot Mulled Cider Day and that was a holiday that I wasn’t that excited for.  I’m not a huge fan of apple juice or apple cider.  Regardless, I picked up some cider from Clement’s along with some mulling spices.  They sell the spices all prepackaged right nearby where the cider is kept, so it was kind of easy to shop for.  When I got home, I poured some into a pan, added a couple of tablespoons of the spices and let it heat up for about 20 minutes.  It made the house smell great too and I kept it on the burner for the rest of the night.  The smell perked up Lola too as it made her think of fall and warmth.  It was worth the effort just for bringing that aroma into the house.  But, to truly celebrate, I had to actually taste it so begrudgingly, I ladled some into a coffee mug.  My image for a serving mug for this was a stemmed coffee mug but the only stemmed mug I could find was one of Chip from Beauty and the Beast.  And, because it was Friday at 5 PM, I added in some rum (I had a bottle of Kraken Black Spiced Rum and that sounded like a good paring).    So yes, I drank rum from a Beauty and the Beast coffee mug (they live to serve).

img_5734

You know what?  This stuff was pretty good!  Really.  It surprised me.  You definitely taste the apple but it doesn’t overwhelm.  The more prevailing taste is the mixture of warm spices like cinnamon, cloves, allspice and nutmeg.  Heating it up creates a warm balance and it hits you in nice places as soon as it passes by your nostrils and floats over your tongue.  The rum seemed like the perfect pairing too because it melded into the other spices and just made it nicer.  It’s a drink that makes you say, “Ahhhh.”  I couldn’t have more than one at a time, but if there is ever a chill in the air and you want a quick warm up, this does the trick.  It’s a celebration worth your time and it was worth mine.

A quick shout out to all the birthday celebrators today, especially my nephew Zack who turned 13!  Hard to believe he’s a teenager now.  He’s been celebrating along on many of the days of this quest so I hope his year ahead is filled with lots of other days he can celebrate.  I am going to bring him all my chewed gum from today as a memento of his birthday celebration.  Won’t he be surprised?

Next Up: National Homemade Cookies Day 

 

Leave a Reply

