Day 56 – National One Hit Wonder Day

“Come On Eileen” was named the number one One-Hit Wonder from the eighties by VH1 in a poll they shared back in 2013.  The eighties are, to me, the best source of all one-hit wonders, but maybe that’s because that’s the era in which I grew up.  Still, we have some powerhouses in contention from that decade.  “867-5309/Jenny” by Tommy Tutone, “Too Shy” by Kajagoogoo, “She Blinded Me With Science” by Thomas Dolby – that’s just a few, but let’s not forget entries by celebrities including Eddie Murphy’s “Party All the Time,” Bruce Willis’ “Respect Yourself,” and of course Jack Wagner’s “All I Need”.  Let’s face it – we all have our guilty one hit wonder pleasures.  We can sing them and know all the words, we get excited when we stumble upon them on the radio, and they instantly bring us back to another time and place. That’s how and why we celebrate a day like National One Hit Wonder Day and I definitely took some time throughout the day to crank up the Aldo Nova right after some Harold Faltermeyer to set the mood.  I hope you did too.

The truth is that today was actually a hard day to celebrate in a real way.  There were a lot of holidays happening today, but they all involved people or events that were hard to personally celebrate.  Sure, I played some one hit wonders, but that doesn’t make much of a celebration.  Similarly, National Comic Book Day, National Research Administrator Day, Math Storytelling Day and National Gold Star Mother’s Day (all which were today) were equally hard to celebrate.  They all deserve their day, but for the purposes of my quest, it was really hard to do anything with them.  Did you really want to watch me read a comic book?  So my friends, I took the easy way out.

At the beginning of my quest I said that this may happen where there would be a day that I wouldn’t know how to celebrate.  And on those occasions, the prime directive allowed me to celebrate whatever the national month observation is as a fill in for the day  of celebration.  So that’s what I did.  September happens to be the national month for a bunch of things (Baby Safety, Fall Hat, International Square Dancing).  I decided to celebrate September as National Chicken Month.

To start my celebration, I had some chicken salad for lunch.  I usually opt for Willow Tree Chicken Salad, but today I went for Clement’s homemade rotisserie chicken salad which was made with fresh celery.  It was surprisingly good and fresh and made a nice lunch, especially while I was watching some football.  For dinner, I went the roast chicken route.  I had picked up some fresh rosemary and some lemon, so I mixed that with some butter and then coated the chicken with the mix.  I sprinkled the bird with salt and pepper too then stuffed the cavity with lemon and rosemary before throwing it in the oven for a little over an hour.  It came out looking pretty nice with a nice golden brown skin.

img_5681

Lola was still not feeling well tonight and I think she is officially the first victim of the fall cold.  Because of that, she wasn’t very hungry.  I however dug in and enjoyed a nice roasted chicken.  Roasted chicken was always my favorite growing up.  I can remember naming it as my “last meal” if I was ever to find myself in a last meal situation.  I’ve cooked lots of chicken over the years (don’t mean to brag – I’m sure you have too), and it’s still one of my faves.  In the history of Dan and Lola, roast chicken is the first meal Lola cooked for me.  She surprised me one day by cooking a full dinner in our tiny apartment in New Hampshire.  It was one of the hottest days of the summer and she not only cooked a full chicken for us (using a recipe from Ted on Queer Eye For the Straight Guy, just to give you a timestamp), but she also made a homemade clam chowder from scratch.  I couldn’t believe how ambitious she was.  When I came home, the house smelled as good as it ever had.  Lola had set the table and had all ready for me.  She was almost overheated from cooking all afternoon, but she looked especially cute in her well-used apron.  It was probably the best meal I had ever had.   So if this month is about celebrating chicken, count me in, because chicken deserves our cheers for all the happy memories it brings.

I know, I know, kind of an easy out for me today.  I’ll come back strong this week.

Next Up: National Pancake Day 

Leave a Reply

