Day 53 – National Ice Cream Cone Day

Why would they make the first day of autumn the day to celebrate the Ice Cream Cone?  We had all summer to celebrate.  That seems more appropriate.  Not that it wasn’t warm enough today for an Ice Cream Cone.  It was actually perfect weather for it.  Still, it seems like an opportunity was missed to host this holiday on a nice warm summer night when it’s still warm and light out at 8:30.

I happened to be in Bristol today and I thought that a nice ice cream cone on the waterfront would be a nice farewell to summer.  There’s an ice cream stand right on the dock that makes it easy to get a tasty treat and take a nice stroll overlooking Bristol Harbor.  However, because it’s autumn and a Thursday, they were closed and I was met with a sign that says they are only open Friday to Sunday.  That makes sense.  The name of the stand is Gray’s Ice Cream and fortunately, they have another location not far away in Tiverton, so I decided to go there as a Plan B.

Gray’s in Tiverton is located at the historic Four Corners and has been in business since 1923.  The spot in Bristol is just for summer business.  It’s a shack really.  The place in Tiverton is the real deal and the place where they make all there ice cream.  In the summer, there are usually four windows open to take orders and the line at each window can be five or six people deep.  On a Thursday in late September at lunch time, I had to poke my head in the window to see if they were open.  They were.

I went with the ice cream cone that I would always get as a youngster.  I figured this was a classic holiday which deserved to be honored classically.  I ordered up a sugar cone with chocolate chip ice cream.  I was running solo on this one as Lola was out for an appointment (plus she needed a little break from the sweet son this quest).  So I got my cone, grabbed some napkins and then sat on the stone wall which surrounds the property to enjoy.  The parking lot was empty, so it seemed silly to sit on a wall so far away from the building, but sitting on that wall is kind of the tradition and it let’s you scope out what’s happening as you eat your treat.  The ice cream melted pretty fast which made me step up my “conelingus” efforts so I could keep my cone in check.  That’s kind of the one fault of the cone – you have to race through eating eat to get it to a manageable size and shape.  But I was able to get it under control and I enjoyed a nice little treat in the afternoon on a random Thursday sitting by myself in the warm sun.  There’s something a little decadent about an ice cream cone in the middle of the afternoon on a workday – it felt like I was playing hooky. Maybe that made it taste a little better.  All in all, not a bad way to celebrate.

img_5660

One of the reasons why I had been in Bristol earlier in the day was to drop off some of the cookies I had made yesterday to Jackie, one of the blog fans.  She wrote a note this morning on the Facebook page that said the cookies looked delicious.  I knew I was going to be in Bristol (where Jackie works), so I asked her if she wanted some delivered to her.  She took me up on the offer.  That brought a new dimension of fun to the quest where I can randomly share our bounty with supporters and friends.  I don’t think I have actually ever met Jackie (she’s an FOL – friend of Lola), but I have always heard nice things about her.  The least I could do was share some cookies with her.  I dropped a small bag of cookies for her in her office and even though I have still yet to meet her (she was with a client), I felt like I shared some celebration today which is what the quest is all about.  I hope I can do that more of that in the future.  So you never know – if you see something on here that I made that looks interesting, give me a shout.  I’ll do what I can.  But don’t ask for that ice cream cone – that was gone before I left Gray’s.

img_5658

The best place in Bristol for Jackie spotting.  

Next up: National Great American Pot Pie Day

2 comments

  1. Catching up many weeks later, I will take you up on that offer. Please deliver some tasty goodies to CA. You and Lola could use a warm vacation, right?

    Like

    • danlederer · November 14

      That’s a tall order, but I’ll see what I can do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

