Day 31 – National Trail Mix Day

This was one I didn’t need a recipe for because to me, trail mix is just a bunch of munchies thrown into a big pile.  So that’s what I did.  I started with nuts; raw cashews, almonds, walnuts and pecans. That’s always a good place to start, and then I added in some dried cranberries, some oat bran sticks, some dark chocolate covered raisins and then finally some Unreal Chocolate (plain and peanut).  Some thoughts on all this:

  • Pecans don’t hold water when you eat them alongside walnuts, cashews and almonds.  They are too sweet.  I’d probably keep them out next time.  Let’s leave them for baking.
  • Oat bran sticks are one of my faves.  I know they are not the healthiest of snacks, but they sure taste good.
  • Dark chocolate covered raisins were the star of this mix.  That surprised me. Although, on the negative side, they do melt in the sun (not ideal for trail mix).
  • Unreal Chocolates are gross.  They are supposed to be a healthier alternative to M&Ms made without junk, with less sugar, and supposedly with better taste, but they missed the mark on that last one.  Tom Brady endorses them, and for that, Tom Brady deserves to be kicked in the shins (or maybe I have to kick Jimmy Garoppolo until Brady’s back from suspension).
  • While it was good, if I were to perfect it and make Dan’s Famous Trail Mix Recipe, I would work more on finding a taste combination that worked together as a whole.  This one had too many different flavors working against each other.

IMG_5388

Now you can’t have Trail Mix without going on a trail (otherwise you are just eating a bowl of candy and nuts), so I headed out to a place I have driven by but never stopped to enjoy: The Aquidneck Land Trust Trails.  These are trails that wind through the heart of the island (yes folks, Newport, Portsmouth and Middletown are all on one island).  The trail I went on looped around the Newport National Golf Course, but the other trails take you to places a little more wooded and secluded.  I picked this spot because I always see the trail head while I’m on my way to Katie’s house or to Sweet Berry Farm and I knew there would be a place to park.  I had a bag of trail mix with me to make sure I had enough energy, but to be honest, I left the bag in the car while I was hiking because I didn’t want to carry it in my pocket and I knew I could survive the 45 minute stroll without a snack (barely).

A question for my readers: If I were to bring the Trail Mix with me, along with my phone, my keys, my emergency inhaler and some water, I would not have a lot of places to put them.  I never want anything in my hands if I am walking nor do I want my pockets to be full of stuff while either.  That weighs me down and  also swings awkwardly if I pick up any speed. That leaves me the option of using a back pack but wearing one of those seemed overly bulky and unnecessary for this kind of adventure.  That leads me to wondering if I what I need is actually a fanny pack?  Is that the only feasible solution?  Is there any way this is fashionably ok to do?  I’ll leave it up to you.  I think Becky has a few I can borrow.

The trail was easy, but it was nice too.  It was well kept and well marked with the one exception of an area that tricked me into walking the cart paths on the actual golf course.  Once I had two foursomes pass me and the beverage cart too, I kind of figured I had gone astray, so I hopped back on the right track.  The trail looped around the outside of the course so although I was in wooded areas, I was never far from a green or tee box.  I only saw a few people out there on the trails (not unexpected for 10 am on a Wednesday), but I did see a few dogs, no horses (the trail is also an equestrian trail too) but a ton of horse poop (Shouldn’t people curb their horses?).  It’s peaceful on any trail and a good way to appreciate the nature that is around us.  It reminded me of the trails we used to walk when we lived in Exeter, NH where Lola and I would often take long walks in the woods together.  I had kind of forgotten how fun that was and how much I used to look forward to it. Maybe we’ll start doing it again now that the fall weather is coming.  I’ll give a big thumbs up to today’s holiday!

IMG_5408

Today was also Diatomaceous Earth Day and I must admit, I had no idea what that was.  Diatomaceous Earth is (Wikipedia) “a naturally occurring, soft, siliceous sedimentary rock that is easily crumbled into a fine white to off-white powder. Depending on the granularity, this powder can have an abrasive feel, similar to pumice powder, and has a low density as a result of its high porosity. Diatomaceous earth consists of fossilized remains of diatoms, a type of hard-shelled algae. It is used as a filtration aid, mild abrasive in products including metal polishes and toothpaste, mechanical insecticide, absorbent for liquids, matting agent for coatings, reinforcing filler in plastics and rubber, anti-block in plastic films, porous support for chemical catalysts, cat litter, activator in blood clotting studies, a stabilizing component of dynamite, and a thermal insulator.”

Now we can all say we know what diatomaceous earth is and next time we whip out the dynamite that we can be sure is stable or we feel that abrasive toothpaste rubbing against the enamel of our teeth clearing out plaque and other teeth diseases, we can all say, “Thank You Diatomaceous Earth!”

Next Up: National No Rhyme (Nor Reason) Day 

 

2 comments

  1. I have to pipe up here to say: I still have and use the same expandable backpack (it’s a fanny pack) that I bought for day hikes at that outdoor store on Broadway in New Haven that is a Mexican restaurant now. Was it called Patagonia? Anyway, also I knew what diatomaceous earth is because my Lisa used to sprinkle it around the outside of her house in a thin line to keep the ants out. I prefer chemically poisonous traps, myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. danlederer · September 27

    Wow – I would have forgotten about that store. I think Patagonia is right. This is good to know. I’d hate be considered a fashion don’t.

    I’m with you on chemically poisonous traps too. Go Dow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

