Day 16 – National Rollercoaster Day

Today was a good day of celebration.  I started out commemorating one of the three holidays that deserved celebration today: National Tell a Joke Day.  I tell a lot of jokes, so days like this are made for people like me.  It just gives me a chance to spread some silliness and humor.  Remember when jokes used to spread by word of mouth and not on the internet?  Those jokes always seemed to be the best.

Joke Break:  The mighty thunder god rode his valiant steed to the top of the mountain, raised his hammer high into the air and called out “I am Thor!”
His horse turned around and said “You forgot your thaddle, thinly.” 

The next holiday that required my attention was National Rollercoaster Day.  I’m not usually a huge fan of rollercoasters, or rides for that matter, but since I happened to be free today, I figured this would be a good one to celebrate.  I searched for the closest rollercoaster and to my dismay, Rhode Island has no coasters (someone needs to alert Governor Raimondo about this).  It used to.  I’ve heard stories of Rocky Point Amusement Park which was one of the state’s biggest attractions, but it closed in 1995 after filing for bankruptcy.  There also used to be a rollercoaster right down the road in Island Park (it boasted the second largest roller coaster in New England in 1925 – The Bullet Ride).  But that was destroyed in the hurricane of 1938 and so were my nearby rollercoaster dreams.

tumblr_nqcumfCges1s3ufuro1_1280

The last rollercoaster I was on was up at Canobie Lake Park in Salem, NH.  They have a classic wooden rollercoaster there along with a loop coaster.  It’s not a bad park and easily accessible right off of I-93 North, however it’s about 1:45 minutes away.  Seemed like a long way to go just to ride a coaster.  After some further searching, I found that there was a coaster just 45 minutes away at a park called Edaville in Carver, MA.  It was listed on a site for rollercoaster enthusiasts, so I figured it had to be legit.  It seemed like it was on the smaller side, but good enough for me and for celebration.  I asked Lola to come with me because I didn’t feel like being the single strange old dude riding the rides alone at an amusement park.  Lola has been my partner in crime in all this celebration and I could not ask for a better one.  She makes every celebration that much more fun.

It turns out that Edaville is kind of a park for little kids.  They do have some legit rides and they are strict on the height requirements (I passed every one), but I  would guess the number of non-child bearing adults at the park outside of ourselves and the employees hovered around the number zero.  Just us and a bunch of child toting weary parents and grandparents roaming around.  That’s why Lola is a great partner because she immediately said we had to make this fun, started dancing, and we made the best of it.

 Joke Break: What did the Ocean say to the beach?  Nothing, it just waves!- Andrew Rodrigues

The coaster was located in the Thomas the Train section of the park and if that doesn’t sound manly enough, it was called Troublesome Trucks Runaway Coaster. The park was kind of empty today – threat of rain kept folks away – so the lines were minimal.  We were onboard in no time – just me, Lola and probably 12 other excited riders ready to celebrate National Rollercoaster Day (or maybe they were excited their mommy let them ride alone).  The car jerked forward and we were off, slowly rolling around before hitting the ascending track that would click up an incline to gain speed for our ride.  We got to the top and the rest was history.


Lola even went on the coaster too.  She’s never a fan of rides or anything that puts you in motion, but this coaster didn’t seem too menacing.  It was a bit faster than we expected, so once was enough for her.  I went on again by myself (because why wouldn’t you?) and then, to make sure Lola knew how tough I really am, I went on the Spinning Lady Bug Coaster by myself!  That’s their other coaster.  It’s a small round track but the carts (shaped like ladybugs) spin around while you ride it.  It was actually kind of fun, although there were moments that my car would spin around and stop at the same time the car behind me spun around, giving me a few moments of awkward silent eye contact with the two seven year old girls riding in the other cart.  I’m glad I was with Lola.  If I had been alone, it would have seemed a little too Little Children.

Joke Break: What do you call a kid with no arms, no legs and an eye patch?  Names.  

We made the best of our park time.  Lola is the person you want on these kind of adventures.  She makes it fun and she’s always up for a funny picture or two.  We took a stroll through Dino Land and gazed upon the prehistoric dinosaurs.  We hit the bumper cars which were actually the best bumper cars I have ever been on – it felt like you actually had control of them.  We just made our own fun which is all you could ask for when you find yourself in these little absurd moments of life and celebration.

IMG_5226

Lola greeting her public.

On our way home, we were both hungry so we decided to stop in New Bedford for a bite to eat.  It was also National Rum Day, so we thought a rum drink might be in order too.  We went to a place called Freestone’s City Grill which was located in the heart of the city.  It was early, probably around 4 pm, but perfect time for Happy Hour.  Lola ordered a Strawberry Daiquiri and I went for the Dark and Stormy.  Both were good and we toasted our success at celebrating National Rollercoaster Day.  It was a great little spot to refuel after a day at the park.

Joke Break: A toothless termite walks into a pub and asks, “Is the bar tender here?” 

IMG_5237

As we made our way back to home, we felt we needed to celebrate National Rum Day a little more, so we stopped at a spot in Fall River by Battleship Cove called the Tipsy Seagull.  A neat little place.  It’s located on a floating dock in a marina.  It has the beach bar feel to it with a thatched roof over the bar with tables along the side and plenty of beachy decor.  It has a great view of the Braga Bridge, of the Brayton Point Power Station and of the sunset on the Taunton River. There was a guy playing guitar and singing (a little too country at first, but he grew on us), and the drinks were nice and fresh.  Lola switched to Sangria, but I kept up with the rum theme and ordered a Dark and Stormy, which was one of their signature drinks.  If you don’t know, a Dark and Stormy is Gosling’s Rum and Ginger Beer.  It’s a great little combo and festive too.  Rum gets a little too sweet for me if I have too many, but having a couple of Dark & Stormies are always refreshing.

Joke Break: And the Lord said unto John, “Come forth and you will receive eternal life.” But John came fifth, and won a toaster.  

I loved this day, mainly because I got to spend it with Lola.  We had a great time just hanging out.  It was an adventure and there’s no one better to go on an adventure with, even if that adventure brings you to a kiddie amusement park.

IMG_5251

My Lola.  Braga Bridge in the distance. 

Tomorrow: National Thrift Shop Day 

One comment

  1. Lola · August 17

    Nobody makes life more of an adventure than you, sugar. Thanks for letting me come along.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

