Day 11 – National Raspberry Bombe Day

What the hell is a bombe?  This was the first day I really had no idea what I was supposed to be celebrating.  I did some googling and it turns out a bombe (aka a bombe glacée) is an ice cream dessert frozen in a spherical mold so as to resemble a cannonball, hence the name.   Why is there a holiday for this?  And why just raspberry bombes?  I love raspberries but I’m getting raspberried out.  So many questions.

I googled a recipe too.  In fact, I googled bombe so frequently today that I think I may now be on the FBI watch list.  I found out that there aren’t many recipes out there for a Raspberry Bombe.  There are other kinds of bombes, but I have to celebrate the Raspberry Bombe. I did find a recipe from Ina Garten which used Raspberry Sorbet along with Mango Sorbet and Strawberry Ice Cream (stuff she probably bought at the local farmer’s market made by virgin organic ice cream makers out on Long Island, her husband Jeffrey’s favorite).  It wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, but it gave me the framework to get where I wanted to be.

I decided to make mine with three parts: Raspberry Sherbet (notice that there is only one “r” in sherbet – we should all know that), Lime Sherbet and some Häagen-Dazs Raspberry Sorbet.  I was going to use good old New England Hood brand sherbets, so I figured the Häagen-Dazs would class up the bombe.  It was actually not hard to make and didn’t take much actual prep time, but I did need to soften the sherbets, use them and then place everything back in the freezer to harden.  I had to do this three different times, so it did end up taking all afternoon to really come together.  But easy peasy to make.

We ate some tonight as Lola watched gymnastics on the Olympics (she’s a fan – she’s wearing her one piece gymnast suit in solidarity).  I made the bombe using a small bowl and the hardest part of the whole recipe was trying to get it out in one piece.  I soaked the bowl for a minute in warm water and then used a towel to help warm the outside as well – hoping it would plop out.  It took some coaxing (and some delicate knife work) but out it came looking every bit the spherical mound it was supposed to look like.  I felt like it needed something else, so I topped it with some Magic Shell, because ‘Merica.

It wasn’t bad.  Really it just tasted like sherbet.  The Magic Shell actually gave it a nice little chocolate finish and added a crunchy texture to the whole party.  Personally, I thought the Hood sherbet tasted better than the Häagen-Dazs sorbet, but it was nice to have the slight difference in the layers.  Lola said “This Bombe is not Da Bomb,” but she was kind of not craving sweet at the time.  Later she admitted it was pretty good.  Consider the Bombe celebrated, but who do we talk to about getting it removed from the calendar?  I know of tons of other desserts that deserve the holiday treatment more than this thing!

IMG_5182

I will say, it looks fun.

Eleven days into the quest and here are some lessons on what I’ve learned:

  1. This stuff takes planning.  Right after you figure out one, you have to look ahead to what’s coming tomorrow.
  2. It takes fridge management skills.  Suddenly our fridge is filled with leftover Rice Pudding, Raspberry Pie, Cake – it piles up quickly.  You have to keep the rotation going and not be afraid to toss out what you can.
  3. It would be nice to have a day to celebrate salad or something that’s not a dessert.
  4. It’s still fun to do all this.  Thanks for celebrating with me.

Tomorrow: National Julienne Fries Day

Leave a Reply

