Let’s start with an idea.

 

I had an idea.

Yep.  A genuine, out of the blue thought that popped right into my head.  That’s not that unusual.  I think of lots of ideas at random times.  They usually float away after a few minutes of reflection. But this idea started to bore into my brain.  It festered.  It took root, so I had to figure out what to do with it.

The idea is simple.  It came to me from the routine of my life and from the randomness of the internet (which are oddly intertwined).  It’s about holidays.

Every day is a holiday.  Not sure if this is a new phenomenon or just an effect of the world wide web, but every day is now officially a holiday.  National Ice Cream Day.  National Corn Fritter Day.  National Yoga Day.  National Grab Some Nuts Day.  Every day a National Day of Celebration. It’s a thing.

What if I celebrated them?  What if I celebrated every day for an entire year? Could it be done?  Would it make me more happy?  Would I be oozing festiveness?  Would it be possible?

That’s the idea.  Dedicate a year to celebrating something every day.  And that’s what this blog will be about – documenting that journey.  I was going to wait until the first of the year to begin this, but, because I am not one of great patience and because my birthday is just a few weeks away, I am officially making the start date of this journey to be August 1, 2016 (which is National Raspberry Cream Pie Day and National Girlfriends Day – hmmm, I may need to set some ground rules with Lola first).

So that’s the plan.  We’ll see where it goes.  But I’m ready to have the celebration begin.

(Up next: some ground rules and structure before we begin) 

8 comments

  1. G · July 22, 2016

    I’m game Daniel! Let the festivities begin!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudia · July 22, 2016

    Sounds like a key a fabulous idea

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tara · July 22, 2016

    I’m playing!! I’m
    Celebrating anything and everything with you. My glass is half full. Let’s do this👊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tara · July 22, 2016

    Ps The “champagne of beers” is what the Engkish tourists were looking for 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lisa · July 22, 2016

    One of the days should be about ice cream and Michael Jackson.- Lange

    Liked by 1 person

    • danlederer · July 22, 2016

      We could make Michael Jackson flavors:
      Chiller
      PYT (Pistachio Yogurt Thing)
      Man in the Mudslide
      Smoothie Criminal
      Black and White

      Like

  6. Danni Dufault · July 22, 2016

    I think it’s a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Valerie Griffiths · July 22, 2016

    Fan, Fan, Fantastic!! Lets celebrate today!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

